Cultural safety advocator and highly recognised Social Worker Ivy Trevallion has been announced as the new Board President for non-profit organisation Torres Strait Islanders Media Association (TSIMA).

Mrs Trevallion was officially appointed to the position of Board President in February 2020, replacing the former president Mrs Margaret Cowley, who had held the vital role for nine consecutive years.

Ivy returns to the organisation after having previously held an executive position with TSIMA as Treasurer for several years.

Ivy was the first Torres Strait Islander Social Worker having graduated from Queensland University in 1986. She has worked in health as a Social Worker for over 30-years and continues to advocate for Torres Strait Islander rights and cultural safety. Mrs Trevallion is also an active representative on several national bodies.

“I am pleased to be welcomed back to the Board and am honoured to be appointed the President role. I hope to carry on from the amazing work and leadership shown by Mrs Cowley. I would like to acknowledge and thank Mrs Cowley for her dedication and commitment to TSIMA over the many years as both a Board Member and the President,” Mrs Trevallion said.

“Moving forward, I aim to strengthen TIMSA’s position within our communities and further connect the voices and culture of the Torres Strait through media.”

In the coming weeks, TSIMA will be hosting mini elections across Outer Island Communities to appoint a new Top Western Representative and an Eastern Islands Representative. The Vice President position also remains vacant and will be co-opted until the next Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The Torres Strait Islanders Media Association is the Torres Strait region’s longest-serving media association in the region. It also operates Radio4MW, the region’s 24-hours radio service. Established in 1985, Radio4MW broadcasts on 1260AM and airs across Zenadth Kes (Torres Strait), the Northern Peninsula Area and as far north as the Western Province of Papua New Guinea. Tune in to Radio4MW on your phone by downloading the TSIMA App, via indigiTUBE or listening online at

TSIMA Board Members (as at March 2020)

Ivy Trevallion – President

Yuriko Nakachi – Treasurer

Norah Mosby – Secretary

Frank Fauid – Central Islands Representative

Rita Kaitap – Inner Western

Vice President – Vacant Position

Eastern Islands Representative – Vacant Position

Top Western Representative – Vacant Position